Import Administration
FTZ Staff Contact Information
last update: September 2002 


                           DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

                              (Order No. 581)

   Expansion of Foreign-Trade Zone 9, Honolulu To Include a Site in Hilo
                              County), Hawaii

                          Wednesday, June 17, 1992

Pursuant to its authority under the Foreign-Trade Zones (FTZ) Act of June 
18, 1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u), and the FTZ Board Regulations (15 
CFR part 400), the FTZ Board (the Board) adopts the following Resolution 
and Order:

Whereas, The State of Hawaii's Department of Business, Economic Development
and Tourism, on behalf of the State of Hawaii, Grantee of FTZ 9, has
applied to the Board for authority to expand its general-purpose zone,
which presently consists of 3 sites in Honolulu, to include a site in Hilo
(Hawaii County), Hawaii, within the Hilo Customs port of entry;

Whereas, The application was accepted for filing on November 5, 1991, and
notice inviting public comment was given in the Federal Register on
November 19, 1991 (Docket 74-91, 56 FR 58335),

Whereas, An examiners committee has investigated the application in
accordance with the Board's regulations and recommends approval;

Whereas, The expansion is necessary to establish general-purpose zone
services in the Hilo Customs port of entry area; and,

Whereas, The Board has found that the requirements of the FTZ Act, as
amended, and the Board's regulations are satisfied, and that approval of
the application is in the public interest;

Now therefore, The Board hereby orders:

That the Grantee is authorized to expand its general-purpose zone (FTZ 9)
to include a site in Hilo, Hawaii County, Hawaii, in accordance with the
application filed on November 5, 1991 (Doc. 74-91), subject to the Act and
the Board's regulations (as revised, 56 FR 50790-50808, 10/8/91), including 

Signed at Washington, DC, this 9th day of June 1992.

Alan M. Dunn,

Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Import Administration, 
Chairman, Committee of Alternates 
Foreign-Trade Zones Board.


John J. Da Ponte, Jr.,

Executive Secretary.

(FR Doc. 92-14238 Filed 6-16-92; 8:45 am)