Import Administration
FTZ Staff Contact Information
last update: September 2002 


                           DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

    			Foreign-Trade Zones Board

                              [Order No. 548]

    Approval for Expansion of Foreign-Trade Zone 153, San Diego, CA

                         Friday, December 27, 1991

Pursuant to the authority granted in the Foreign-Trade Zones Act of June 18,
1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u), and the Foreign-Trade Zones Board 
Regulations (15 CFR part 400), the Foreign-Trade Zones Board (the Board) 
adopts the following Resolution and Order:

Whereas, the City of San Diego, California, Grantee of Foreign-Trade Zone 
No. 153, has applied to the Board for authority to expand its general-
purpose zone within the Otay Mesa area in San Diego, California, within the 
San Diego Customs Port of entry;

Whereas, the application was accepted for filing on January 10, 1991, and
notice inviting public comment was given in the Federal Register on January
22, 1991 (Docket 2-91, 56 FR 2160);

Whereas, an examiners committee has investigated the application in
accordance with the Board's regulations and recommends approval;

Whereas, the expansion is necessary to improve and expand zone services in
the San Diego area; and,

Whereas, the Board has found that the requirements of the Foreign-Trade 
Zones Act, as amended, and the Board's regulations are satisfied, and that 
approval of the application is in the public interest;

Now therefore, the Board hereby orders:

That the Grantee is authorized to expand its zone in accordance with the
application filed on January 10, 1991. The grant does not include authority
for manufacturing operations, and the Grantee shall notify the Board for
approval prior to the commencement of any manufacturing or assembly
operations. The authority given in this Order is subject to settlement
locally by the District Director of Customs and the Army District Engineer
regarding compliance with their respective requirements relating to foreign-
trade zones.

Signed at Washington, DC, this 16th day of December, 1991.

Alan M. Dunn,

Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Import Administration, Chairman,
Committee of Alternates Foreign-Trade Zones Board.


John J. Da Ponte, Jr.,

Executive Secretary.

[FR Doc. 91-30975 Filed 12-26-91; 8:45 am]