Import Administration
FTZ Staff Contact Information
last update: September 2002 

[Federal Register: October 31, 1994]


[Order No. 706]

Establishment of a Foreign-Trade Zone; Tri-City Regional Airport;
Customs User Fee Airport Area of Tennessee and Virginia

    Pursuant to its authority under the Foreign-Trade Zones Act of June
18, 1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u), the Foreign-Trade Zones Board
(the Board) adopts the following Order:

Grant of Authority

    Whereas, by an Act of Congress approved June 18, 1934, an Act ``To
provide for the establishment * * * of foreign-trade zones in ports of
entry of the United States, to expedite and encourage foreign commerce,
and for other purposes,'' as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u) (the Act), the
Foreign-Trade Zones Board (the Board) is authorized to grant to
qualified corporations the privilege of establishing foreign-trade
zones in or adjacent to U.S. Customs ports of entry;
    Whereas, the Tri-City Airport Commission, an interstate public
entity (the Grantee), has made application (FTZ Docket 62-93, 58 FR
68115, 12/23/93) to the Board, requesting the establishment of a
foreign-trade zone at the Tri-City Regional Airport, Sullivan County,
Tennessee, a Customs user fee airport, with additional sites in and
near Bristol and Kingsport, Sullivan County, Tennessee; Johnson City,
Washington County, Tennessee; and, Bristol, Virginia; and,
    Whereas, notice inviting public comment has been given in the
Federal Register and the Board has found that the requirements of the
Act and Board's regulations are satisfied, and that approval of the
application is in the public interest;
    Now, Therefore, the Board hereby grants to the Grantee the
privilege of establishing a foreign-trade zone, designated on the
records of the Board as Foreign-Trade Zone No. 204, at the sites
described in the application, subject to the Act and the Board's
regulations, including Section 400.28, subject to a 2,000-acre
activation limit.

    Signed at Washington, DC, this 18th day of October, 1994.

Ronald H. Brown,
Secretary of Commerce, Chairman and Executive Officer.
John J. Da Ponte, Jr.,
Executive Secretary.
[FR Doc. 94-26891 Filed 10-28-94; 8:45 am]