Import Administration
FTZ Staff Contact Information
last update: September 2002 

[Federal Register: January 9, 1995 (Volume 60, Number 5)]
[Page 2375-2376]
From the Federal Register Online via GPO Access []


[Order No. 726]

Approval for Manufacturing Authority; Lear Seating Corporation
(Automobile Seat Sets) Within Foreign-Trade Zone 38; Spartanburg
County, SC

    Pursuant to its authority under the Foreign-Trade Zones Act of June
18, 1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u), the Foreign-Trade Zones Board
(the Board) adopts the following Order:
    Whereas, Sec. 400.28(a)(2) of the Board's regulations, requires
approval of the Board prior to commencement of new manufacturing/
processing activity within existing zone facilities;
    Whereas, the South Carolina States Port Authority, grantee of FTZ
38, has requested authority under Sec. 400.32(b)(1) of the Board's
regulations on behalf of the Lear Seating Corporation, for authority to
manufacture automobile seat sets under zone procedures within FTZ 38,
Spartanburg County, South Carolina (filed 8-31-94, FTZ Docket A(32b1)-
3-94; Doc. 43-94, assigned 12-19-94);
    Whereas, pursuant to Sec. 400.32(b)(1), the Commerce Department's
Assistant Secretary for Import Administration has the authority to act
for the Board in making such decisions on new manufacturing/processing
activity under certain circumstances, including situations where the
proposed activity is similar to activity recently approved by the Board
(Sec. 400.32(b)(1)(i)); and,
    Whereas, the FTZ Staff has reviewed the proposal, taking into
account the criteria of Sec. 400.31, and the Executive Secretary has
recommended approval;
    Now, therefore, the Assistant Secretary for Import Administration,
acting for the Board pursuant to Sec. 400.32(b)(1), concurs in the
recommendation and hereby approves the request subject to the Act and
the Board's regulations, including Sec. 400.28.

    [[Page 2376]] Signed at Washington, DC, this 27th day of
December 1994.
Barbara R. Stafford,
Acting Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Import Administration,
Alternate Chairman, Foreign-Trade Zones Board.

John J. Da Ponte, Jr.,
Executive Secretary.
[FR Doc. 95-457 Filed 1-6-95; 8:45 am]