Import Administration
FTZ Staff Contact Information
last update: August 2003 
FOREIGN-TRADE ZONES BOARD ORDER NO. 42 Part 400 - General Regulations Governing Foreign-Trade Zones in the United States, With Rules of Procedure Organization of Board
Pursuant to provisions of section 8 of the Foreign-Trade Zones Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 1000; 19 USC 81h), the General Regulations Governing Foreign-Trade Zones in the United States, with Rules of Procedure (15 CFR Part 400), are hereby amended as follows: 1. Amend Sec. 400.1301 to read as follows: Sec. 400.1301 Organization of Board. The Secretary, as Chairman of the Board, shall designate an Executive Secretary of the Foreign-Trade Zones Board. The duties of the Executive Secretary shall be to arrange meetings of the Board, to keep accurate minutes of the Board's deliberations, to direct the execution of orders of the Board, to initiate recommendations to the Board for uniform procedures and practices in the several zones, to make periodic inspections of the zones, and to perform such other duties as are required by the Secretary of Commerce as Executive Officer of the Board, and as the Board may direct. The Executive Secretary is authorized to appoint staff members, including an Assistant Executive Secretary who will assist him generally and act for him in his absence. All records of the Board will be maintained in the office of the Executive Secretary. It is found that compliance with the notice, public rule making procedure, and effective date requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act (5 USC 1003) is unnecessary in connection with the issuance of this order, because its application is restricted to the administrative functions of the Foreign-Trade Zones Board, and is of a nature that it poses no burden on the parties of interest. The effective date of this order is, therefore, upon publication in the Federal Register. (Sec. 8, 48 Stat. 1000; 19 USC 81h) Signed at Washington, DC, this 10th day of August 1956. Foreign-Trade Zones Board Sinclair Weeks Secretary of Commerce, Chairman and Executive Officer, Foreign-Trade Zones Board Attest: Joseph M. Marrone Executive Secretary